Nominations open for Tauranga by-election candidates

Tuesday 24 November 2020


Nominations open today for candidates wishing to stand in next year’s Tauranga by-election.

The by-election is being held to find a replacement for Tenby Powell, who resigned as mayor on Friday, and for former Otumoetai/Pyes Pa councillor Jako Abrie, who resigned in October.

Electoral Officer Warwick Lampp said candidates had until midday on December 22 to complete the formal nomination process.

 “Several people have already announced they are keen to stand for council,” he said.

"A healthy democracy relies on participation, so it’s great to see this amount of interest at an early stage.”

Also from today, members of the public are officially being encouraged to make sure they are enrolled to vote.

The easiest way is to visit the Electoral Commission’s website, where voters can check their enrolment details and confirm which ward they are in.

A ward boundary map and search tool can also be found on the council’s website at

Printed electoral rolls can be viewed at city libraries and the council’s 91 Willow St service centre.

People can vote in the by-election only if they are enrolled to vote in Tauranga or pay rates on a property here but live outside it.

The by-election will be conducted by post using the same Single-Transferable Vote (STV) system used in last year’s city-wide election.

Any questions about the by-election can be directed to the Electoral Officer on 021 498 517.

Key dates

24 November:  Public can enrol to vote / Candidate nominations open

22 December (midday):  Electoral rolls close / Candidate nominations close

26 January:  Delivery of voting papers starts / Special voting opens

31 January:  Last day for delivery of voting papers

17 February:  Election day

20 February:  Declaration of final results (estimated date)