Voting open in Katikati-Waihi Beach by-election

Monday 12 April 2021

Voting is now open to decide who will fill the vacant Katikati-Waihi Beach Ward seat on the Western Bay of Plenty District Council.


Ten candidates are vying for the one seat vacated by Councillor Christina Humphreys, who resigned in January.


The nominees are:

Bryce Bevin (Independent)

John Clements

Griff Cooke

Bill Hedges (Independent)

Andrew Hollis

Rodney Joyce (Independent)

David Marshall

Allan Sole

Kevin Tohiariki

Kim Williams (Independent)


Voting closes at noon on Friday, April 30 2021 with the successful candidate selected under the first-past-the-post electoral system.


Voting documents can be returned by post or hand-delivered during normal business hours, to the Electoral Officer, Western Bay of Plenty Council, no later than noon Friday, April 30 2021. Hand deliveries can be made to:


Western Bay of Plenty District Council’s Main Office, Barkes Corner, 1484 Cameron Road, Greerton, Tauranga.

Katikati Library and Service Centre, The Centre – Patuki Manawa, 21 Main Road, Katikati.

Waihi Beach Library and Service Centre, Waihi Beach Road, Waihi Beach.


Those eligible to vote are all resident electors and non-resident ratepayer electors whose names appear on the Electoral Roll for Council. If you are not on the Electoral Roll, you can apply to enrol as either a residential or ratepayer elector up to Thursday, April 29 – the day before the close of voting.


Enrolling as a resident elector can be done by phoning the Electoral Commission on 0800 367 656.


By-election key dates:

Thursday, April 8: Voter packs sent out in the mail.

Thursday, April 8: Voting opens.

Friday, April 30: Voting closes at 12 noon.

Wednesday, May 5: Public notice of the result.